5 Ingredient Breakfast Bars: A Success!

The colossal amount of fruit flies buzzed around the house with the latest gossip.

“Apparently, some inept cook is going to make 5 Ingredient Breakfast Bars,” One hissed to Another.

“How can one mess that up,” Another exclaimed to One, “when there are only 5 ingredients!”

“She’ll find a way…” One foretold.

Today I made 5 Ingredient Breakfast Bars! To find the original recipe click here.

I was a bit doubtful because usually I mess up simple recipes pretty badly. For example, I wouldn’t have been surprised if I had burnt them.

The recipe said it would take about 15 minutes to prepare, I took about an hour. Here’s what I did:

FullSizeRender

Breakfast Bars by Minimalist Baker

Ingredient count: 5

Medjool dates

Agave nectar (original recipe states the alternative options)

Almond butter

Slivered almonds

Gluten free quick oats

Steps

  1. I made the mistake of putting the pitless dates in my Vitamix instead of in the food processor. It was very hard to get them out because they were so sticky.
  2. Put the date “dough” in a large bowl.
  3. Toast your oats and almonds in the oven for 10 minutes.
  4. While they are toasting, mix together your almond butter and agave nectar on the stove.
  5. Then mix together everything and put in freezer for 20 minutes.
  6. Take out and cut into pieces.

They were positively delicious and strangely enough, I only made ONE mistake. Take that, fruit flies!

FullSizeRender (2)

-Ella:)

Leave a Reply

